University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Applying for the Writer-in-Residence

Applications for the position of Canadian Writer-in-Residence 2014-2015 are now closed. All applications received or postmarked by January 31, 2013 will be considered. 

The Calgary Distinguished Writers Program encourages submissions from promising Canadian writers for the position of Canadian Writer-in-Residence, a ten-month residency at the University of Calgary’s Faculty of Arts from August 15, 2014 to June 15, 2015. This is a unique opportunity for early to mid-career Canadian writers to devote their time to writing and to advancing their writing careers. Applications for the position are encouraged from writers from diverse genres—including literary fiction or non-fiction, poetry, scriptwriting, and playwriting. Candidates will have one to four published and/or performed works to their credit, and are expected to propose a project or projects that they will undertake during their term as Canadian Writer-in-Residence. They will preferably, but not necessarily, hold a university degree.

The residency is a full-time term position, with half of the Canadian Writer-in-Residence’s time reserved for their own writing projects, and half to be comprised of public outreach involving manuscript consultations, public presentations, assistance with hosting visiting writers, and other related duties. While the Canadian Writer-in Residence will be invited to speak to university classes and to the general public, this is not a teaching position. 

The Calgary Distinguished Writers Program offers a generous compensation package, an office on the University of Calgary campus, and administrative support. Past Canadian Writers-in Residence include: Marcello Di Cintio, Charlotte Gill, Sina Queyras, Jaspreet Singh, Melanie Little, Natalee Caple, Robert Finley, Oana Avasilichioaei, Suzette Mayr, Roberta Rees, and Peter Oliva. The 2012-13 Canadian Writer-in-Residence is Deborah Willis.

Submissions for the position of Canadian Writer-in-Residence should include:

  • a literary resume;
  • 1-4 published books, plays, or screenplays;
  • a statement of interest;
  • a single-page description of projects to be undertaken during the residency; and
  • three letters of reference (preferably not from agents or publishers).

Submissions may be sent by mail or courier to:

Dr. Bart Beaty
Acting Chair, Calgary Distinguished Writers Program
c/o Caitlynn Cummings
Coordinator, Calgary Distinguished Writers Program
Faculty of Arts, University of Calgary
Craigie Hall D 100
2500 University Drive NW
Calgary AB  T2N 1N4

References may be included with your submission or sent separately by email to . Please format your subject line in the following way: W-i-R 2014-2015: Applicant Last Name, Applicant First Name.

Submission deadline is January 31, 2013. 

Further information can be obtained by contacting Caitlynn Cummings at 403.220.8177 or .

The Calgary Distinguished Writers Program strives to advance the careers of Canadian writers by providing them with time to write through a ten-month residency program. It enriches the Albertan and Canadian cultural scenes by hosting authors of international stature through a distinguished visiting writer residency. The University of Calgary respects, appreciates, and encourages diversity.

Twitter Updates

Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook Watch us on Vimeo