University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Distinguished Visiting Writer

Invitations for the Distinguished Visiting Writer are extended by the Steering Committee. The amount of the award varies depending upon the length of stay, which may be from one week to several months. The Distinguished Visiting Writer contributes to the program in a variety of ways, including manuscript consultations, readings, talks, or participation in symposia or workshops.

Since its inception in 1993, the program has brought to Calgary two Nobel Laureates, Derek Walcott and Wole Soyinka, and such literary luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Oliver Sacks, Timothy Findley, Margaret MacMillan, Thomas King, Ursula K. Le Guin, Alberto Manguel, and Michael Ondaatje, among others.

The CDWP's 2013-2014 Distinguished Visiting Writer is Neil Gaiman.

Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook Watch us on Vimeo